For All The Cheeseburgers

Tim Thomas (Photo: slidingsideways/flickr)

I had been asked throughout the playoffs about making predictions on who would win the Stanley Cup. I’m insanely superstitious, though, so I would never make my predictions public. Last year, when I made predictions, teams would lose. So I shut up really quickly.

However, I can now say that I was rooting for the Bruins as soon as the Blackhawks were bumped from the playoffs. I know it seems a little belated to say this, but my paranoia kept me from writing those words before.

So, why did I root for the Bruins? Really, it’s because I was rooting for one person.

Tim Thomas.

I adore Tim Thomas more than almost any other player in the league who isn’t on the Blackhawks. He’s humble and one of the nicest guys in the league. He worked so hard to get to this point, and he’s just inspiring to me. There were people who told him to pack it in after last year, but not only did he come back — he won the Conn Smythe! He’ll most likely win the Vezina Trophy, as well.

Most importantly, he led the Bruins to the Stanley Cup and defeated the hated Canucks. If the Blackhawks couldn’t make it back to the Finals this year, this was the next-best case scenario, as far as I was concerned.

Congratulations to the Boston Bruins, and especially to Tim Thomas!

Now let’s hope the Blackhawks make it back next year so I’m not forced to root for another team again.

One thought on “For All The Cheeseburgers

Leave a Comment

