Made me say “Booo”: Canucks 6, Blackhawks 2

Blackhawks fall to Canucks 6-2.

I just can’t…I’m still dumbfounded over this game.

What can I say about this game? I’m still trying to digest what happened…I was at work during the game and every time I checked the score my mood got worse and worse, as well as my headache.

The one thing that stands out is that penalties killed the Blackhawks last night. 5 of Vancouver’s goals were scored on the powerplay, 5. Talk about not acceptable. And I’m sorry but Carcillo, oh Carcillo…just as I was kinda sorta starting to like him he racked up close to 20 minutes in the box.

My one highlight is that even though the Hawks lost the game, Crawford made 32 saves last night. Keep doing your thing, Crawfish, and hopefully next time the Blackhawks will pull out the win.

Box Score

1st Period

6:00 VAN PPG – David Booth (1) Wrist Shot – Assists: C. Hodgson (3) & C. Higgins (3)

21:57 CHI Michael Frolik (3) Wrist Shot – Assists: N. Hjalmarsson (1)

2nd Period

1:16 VAN PPG – Aaron Rome (1) Slap Shot – Assists: C. Hodgson (4) & D. Booth (4)

4:40 VAN PPG – Daniel Sedin (6) Wrist Shot – Assists: H. Sedin (11) & D. Hamhuis (5)

15:07 CHI Marcus Kruger (2) Backhand – Assists: J. Mayers (2) & V. Stalberg (2)

15:50 VAN Jannik Hansen (2) Wrist Shot – Assists: D. Sedin (11) & H. Sedin (12)

17:50 VAN PPG – Dan Hamhuis (2) Slap Shot – Assists: H. Sedin (13) & A. Edler (11)

3rd Period

9:26 VAN PPG – Henrik Sedin (5) Backhand – Assists: A. Edler (12) & D. Sedin (12)

Captain Force of Nature Watch: No goals for Toews last night

Duncan Keith Plus/Minus Watch: N/A as he is still out. Boooo.

Defense TOI Watch (Till Keith gets back on his feet):

Seabrook:  22:13

Hjalmarsson:  19:03

Leddy:  23:31

O’Donnell:  15:28

Montador:  16:22

Lepisto:  16:40

Post-game Notes via nhl.com:

Alain Vigneault, VAN Head Coach: “I feel we got off to a real strong start. The guys were focused, executed well. I thought we played a real strong first period. In the second (Chicago) took some penalties we made them pay for. That was the game.”

Corey Crawford: “Obviously their power play was the difference. We haven’t seen that from a team. They just held on to it (the puck) for two minutes and kept getting goals at the end. I just couldn’t come up with a key save.”

Jonathan Toews: “Our power play, as usual of late, wasn’t very good, the penalty kill too, but it went beyond that. We didn’t play a very good game all around.”

Post Game Videos:

Joel Quenneville

Patrick Sharp

Leave a Comment

