Oduya Like That Scott Is Gone?

Is this the last time I get to use this picture? I am sad! (Photo: Bridget Samuels/flickr)

Well, this trade deadline was relatively uneventful.

The Blackhawks were in need of a second-line center going into this trade deadline, but it seems as if there were none to be found for cheap. So, instead, they acquired defenseman Johnny Oduya from the Winnipeg Jets for their second and third-round draft picks in 2013. This gets a big ol’ shrug from me. Those picks probably will not be as valuable in two years if the organizational depth continues to grow, so we got a guy who can eat up some defensive minutes for relatively cheap. Again, shrug.

The (literally) bigger news is that someone took John Scott for more than a bag of pucks. The Blackhawks somehow managed to convince the New York Rangers to take him for a fifth-round pick in 2012. Scott was a great guy off the ice, but let’s be real: he has a 6:56 average TOI and has played in 29 games so far this year. He talked to the Chicago Tribune about his trade today:

“It’s surprising to say the least,” Scott said. “I thought I’d be the last person to get traded. I’m excited to go to New York but also sad to leave Chicago. I had a good couple of years here. It’s bittersweet, I guess.

“It came as a shock to me and to my agent and everybody. I don’t really see myself as a deadline-deal guy you try to go out and get, but I guess I am. It’s shocking.”

While Scott wasn’t much of an asset on the ice, he will be missed for being a funny dude off the ice, as well as his asskicking ways. This is what you’ll be getting, Rangers fans…

Leave a Comment

