Fresh Brew: Sharp Makes Alternate Captaincy Look Good

But let's be real -- Sharp makes anything look good. (Photo: Screenshot/TSN.ca)

Patrick Sharp was named an alternate captain of Team Canada earlier today. Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks was named captain, while Dion Phaneuf from the Toronto Maple Leafs will serve as the other alternate captain. (nhl.com)

Instead of wearing the #10, Sharp will be wearing 81. Why?

Is it me, or did it just get a little dusty in here?

Speaking of Marian Hossa, he spoke to the press today while he’s still recovering from his concussion at his home in Slovakia.

“It has been a few weeks now … (and) I’m feeling better and slowly going for walks,” Hossa said. “That’s a good thing. Training camp is still far away and we’ll see what’s going to happen. I’ve been in contact with the organization, Dr. (Michael) Terry and my trainers. So far, (it’s) small steps. I believe I’ll be ready.” (Chicago Tribune)

I think I speak for most Blackhawks fans when I say that it’s no rush for you to get better, Hossa. We just want you to be 100-percent when you return to the ice.

Meanwhile, Raffi Torres is appealing the length of his suspension for his hit on Hossa. I hope he gets slapped with 25 more games. (USA Today)

Leave a Comment

