Salt In The Wound

Why must you do this to me, Blackhawks?

My Blackhawks season tickets came in via FedEx today.

Instead of gleefully ripping open the package and making plans for games like I have for the past three years, I somberly opened it and stared at them for a while.

It’s a physical reminder that the 2012-2013 season might never happen.

Oh, sure, I’m optimistic that there will be a deal done before the end of December. (That’s about as optimistic as I’m allowing myself to be right now.) No one wants to see another lost season, least of all the players and the owners at the heart of this lockout. I’m just bummed that I won’t be able to rip off these tickets one by one for a while.

Some people are suggesting that I send these tickets back in protest.

These people are ridiculous.

Unlike others who swear on a stack of Bibles that they are never, ever, ever getting back together with the NHL like they’re Taylor Swift carving up another ex-boyfriend, I know I’ll be back.

If Darren Rovell wants to somehow blame me for the NHL going into a lockout, that’s fine. I don’t give a shit. I’m not going to the back of the 10,000+ waiting list for season tickets for some stupid, empty gesture.

Until I’m able to use these, I’ll go find my hockey fix elsewhere, and so will this site.

We’ll be following the Rockford IceHogs and Toledo Walleye more closely, along with the Chicago Steel (the USHL junior team). We’ll also be keeping an eye on our favorite players as they disperse among various European teams.

This lockout won’t be pretty, but we’ll get through it together, hockey fans.

Leave a Comment

